Skip Nav
Rachel Hilbert
Victoria's Secret Angel Sara Sampaio Did Her Own Hair For the Show
Beauty Influencer Gift Guide
Cool-Girl Manicurist Madeline Poole Shares 10 Hot Beauty Gifts You Need
Beauty News
Are You a Beauty and Fitness Junkie? You'll Be Obsessed With Tarte's Athleisure Line

How to Tell If a Product Is Vegetarian

5 Ways to Tell If Your Beauty Products Are Vegetarian

October is Vegetarian Awareness Month, and while most of us have a pretty easy time knowing when food is vegetarian or not, things are a little different when it comes to beauty. So how do you know if a product you're using qualifies? Check out a few quick tips to help you sleuth it out when you keep reading.

  1. Look for the Leaping Bunny label. It means that the product you're buying wasn't tested on animals. Note: you'll still have to refer to the label to learn whether or not the product in question is vegan or vegetarian.
  2. Check the company out online before you buy. Most lines that make vegetarian or vegan products are pretty proud of the fact and make a point of it on their websites. Lush and Melvita are both good examples of this — you can see both their ingredient lists and certifications without ever leaving your couch.
  3. Does it say there are omega-3s in it? Then, make sure they're not fish derived. Omega-3 fatty acids are a popular ingredient in moisturizers right now, but they can come from different places. Flax and borage sources are veggie, but cod liver and krill aren't. If the provenance isn't listed on the label, assume it's from the latter pair.
  4. Just say no way to whey. Whey is milk derived, so it's vegetarian but not vegan. Lots of peels and chemical exfoliants also have dairy-derived lactic acid in them, and some hair products also contain milk protein casein. So if you want to buy vegan, watch out for these on labels.
  5. Gelatin and glycerin can be meat based. Most products today use vegetable gelatin and glycerin, but there are still plenty of exceptions. Again, check the label for the source. If it doesn't specifically say the ingredient is vegetable derived, it very well might not be.
Image Source: Thinkstock
Around The Web
Join The Conversation
hkgandhi hkgandhi 5 years
any one know vegetarian listick?
Jaime-Richards Jaime-Richards 5 years
Definitely makes you think twice about what's in products!
Annie-Tomlin Annie-Tomlin 5 years
I, too, am a vegetarian. Gelatin is in EVERYTHING, it seems.
J-Rabbit J-Rabbit 5 years
Yay for Vegetarian Awareness month! Good article!
ViolaMorbid ViolaMorbid 5 years
Good to know.... I'm a vegetarian, so this is good to have in mind.
robylew robylew 5 years
Wow..so much I didn't know about vegetarians and vegens.
Labiotte Wine-Bottle Lipstick
DIY Christmas Tree Body Scrub
Best Beauty Products For December 2016 | Winter Shopping
Beauty Tips For Women in Their 30s
Sephora Holiday Beauty Sets 2016
Best Reviewed Beauty Products at Sephora
Turmeric Beauty Benefits

POPSUGAR, the #1 independent media and technology company for women. Where more than 75 million women go for original, inspirational content that feeds their passions and interests.

From Our Partners
Latest Beauty
All the Latest From Ryan Reynolds