Skip Nav
Oscars
Fill Out Our Oscar Ballot For a Chance to Win $1,000!
Nostalgia
20 Love Songs of Our Youth That Still Speak to Us
Back to School
29 Hot TV Guys You Would Have Loved to Go to High School With

Angelina Jolie to Star in Adaptation of Cornwell Mysteries


Fox 2000 has acquired the rights to mystery writer Patricia Cornwell's bestselling series about medical examiner Dr. Kay Scarpetta — with Angelina Jolie eyeing the lead role in the film adaptation. Here's more:

There are 16 Scarpetta novels, meaning a franchise is hoped for, but this film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of The Silence of the Lambs and Seven.

Variety goes on to call this a "mega-marriage" since Angelina Jolie is "one of the most bankable female movie stars, and Cornwell one of the biggest selling female authors in the world." Jolie has played a tomb raider, an assassin, and soon a spy — why not add medical examiner to the list? One thing's for certain: she never gets the wimpy roles.

Do you read Patricia Cornwell's novels? Do you think this sounds like a cool combination of creative forces?

Source and Source

Around The Web
Best 2015 Winter Books to Read For Women
Best YA Romance Books of 2015
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Book News
Angelina Jolie's Black Dress on the Today Show 2016
Angelina Jolie's Kids Becoming Actors
Book Wedding Ideas
Celebrities Who Go by Their Middle Names

POPSUGAR, the #1 independent media and technology company for women. Where more than 75 million women go for original, inspirational content that feeds their passions and interests.

Join The Conversation
Nina15362596 Nina15362596 2 years
I don't see angelina as kay scarpetta. I am thinking maybe ashley judd with blond hair or maria bello.
sillyho sillyho 6 years
Angelina do a chick flick!
sillyho sillyho 6 years
Angelina do a chick flick!
sarahgibs sarahgibs 6 years
This is an awful choice for Scarpetta she isn't even close to the description in the book
Linda-McP Linda-McP 6 years
Not loving this casting at all.
californiagirlx7 californiagirlx7 6 years
I like Angelina, but I wish she would do something different than being a cop/medical examiner/spy/assassin. I really want to see her take on something less serious, even though she's in great in those types of roles. nyaradzom - I love the idea of Rachel Weisz in this role, she is one of my fave actresses. care0531 - She didn't say that she was completely retiring yet, she is just taking on less movies. The current movie she's filming, SALT, is the first movie she's filmed since she was 3 months pregnant with the twins and now they are 9 months old, so....it's been awhile.
californiagirlx7 californiagirlx7 6 years
I like Angelina, but I wish she would do something different than being a cop/medical examiner/spy/assassin. I really want to see her take on something less serious, even though she's in great in those types of roles.<b>nyaradzom</b> - I love the idea of Rachel Weisz in this role, she is one of my fave actresses.<b>care0531</b> - She didn't say that she was completely retiring yet, she is just taking on less movies. The current movie she's filming, SALT, is the first movie she's filmed since she was 3 months pregnant with the twins and now they are 9 months old, so....it's been awhile.
annalisa annalisa 6 years
Nooo, Angelina no! She's nothing like Kay Scarpetta. I like the idea of Jennifer Connelly. And if they turn it into an action movie I won't be pleased. I'm a fan of Cornwell's books, I don't like the idea they're coming up with.
care0531 care0531 6 years
I thought she was retiring to take time to spend with the kids?
oohsexypenguin oohsexypenguin 6 years
I second the Rachel Weisz suggestion.
Allyace Allyace 6 years
I agree with anyone that nyaradzom said and will add Laura Linney or Kate Winslet.
mrsld mrsld 6 years
Oh, NYara- Jennifer Connelly is a great idea!
nyaradzom2001 nyaradzom2001 6 years
no, how about julianne moore, rachel weisz, jennifer connelly or cate blanchett
mrsld mrsld 6 years
OH NO!!!!!!!!!! Please no angelina!!!!!!!!!!!! It will ruin my scarpetta!
mrsld mrsld 6 years
OH NO!!!!!!!!!!Please no angelina!!!!!!!!!!!! It will ruin my scarpetta!
0danielle0 0danielle0 6 years
Love these books. Very exciting! :)
Briandiesel Briandiesel 6 years
could be interesting... never read any of those books-
Latest Entertainment
X