Skip Nav
Fill Out Our Oscar Ballot For a Chance to Win $1,000!
the crown
4 Details About Season 2 of The Crown That Will Make You Royally Excited
Ewan McGregor
Everything We Know About Fargo Season 3 (Including the Premiere Date!)

We Love the Writers Guild Awards

As a writer, I feel particularly passionate about Hollywood writing awards, and yesterday's 2007 Writers Guild Awards ceremony suggests that one of my favorite scripts this year, Little Miss Sunshine, might really be the little movie that could when it comes to screenwriting nods at the Oscars. Held in Los Angeles and attend by Tina Fey, Sarah Jessica Parker, and Mo Rocca, the awards honored achievements for movies, TV, and radio. Here's a look at the TV and movie winners.


Original Screenplay:
Little Miss Sunshine, Michael Arndt

Adapted Screenplay:
The Departed, screenplay by William Monahan; based on the movie Infernal Affairs, written by Alan Mak and Felix Chong

Documentary Screenplay:
Deliver Us from Evil, written by Amy Berg


Dramatic Series:
"The Sopranos," written by Mitchell Burgess, David Chase, Diane Frolov, Robin Green, Andrew Schneider, Matthew Weiner, Terence Winter; HBO

Comedy Series:
"The Office," written by Steve Carell, Jennifer Celotta, Greg Daniels, Lee Eisenberg, Brent Forrester, Ricky Gervais, Mindy Kaling, Paul Lieberstein, Stephen Merchant, B.J. Novak, Michael Schur, Gene Stupnitsky; NBC

To see the rest,

New Series:
"Ugly Betty," written by Veronica Becker, Oliver Goldstick, Silvio Horta, Sarah Kucserka, Sheila Lawrence, Cameron Litvack, Myra Jo Martino, Jim Parriott, Marco Pennette, Dailyn Rodriguez, Don Todd; ABC

Episodic Drama, One Airing Time:
"Big Love" Pilot, witten by Mark V. Olsen & Will Scheffer; HBO

Episodic Comedy, one airing time:
"Casino Night" ("The Office"), Written by Steve Carell; NBC

Long-Form Original Program:
"Flight 93," written by Nevin Schreiner; A&E

Animation, one airing time:
"The Italian Bob" ("The Simpsons"), written by John Frink; Fox

Comedy/Variety Awards, Tributes, Specials:
The National Memorial Day Concert, Written by Joan Meyerson; PBS

Comedy/Variety (including talk) series:
"Saturday Night Live," Head Writers Tina Fey, Seth Meyers, Andrew Steele; Writers Doug Abeles, James Anderson, Alex Baze, Liz Cackowski, Charlie Grandy, Steve Higgins, Colin Jost, Erik Kenward, John Lutz, Lorne Michaels, Matt Murray, Paula Pell, Akiva Schaffer, Frank Sebastiano, T. Sean Shannon, Robert Smigel, JB Smoove, Emily Spivey, Jorma Taccone, Bryan Tucker; Additional sketches by Mike Schwartz, Kristin Gore; NBC

Daytime Serials:
"As the World Turns," written by Jean Passanante, Leah Laiman, Christopher Whitesell, Courtney Simon, Anna Cascio, Lisa Connor, Paula Cwikly, Hogan Sheffer, Judy Tate, Bettina Bradbury, Richard Culliton, Susan Dansby, Judy Donato, Josh Griffith, Elizabeth Page, Melissa Salmons, Charlotte Gibson; CBS

Children's Episodic and Specials:
Premiere ("Just for Kicks"), written by Alana Sanko; Nickelodeon

Documentary, Current Events:
The Dark Side, written by Michael Kirk; PBS Frontline

Documentary, Other:
Marie Antoinette, written by David Grubin; PBS

News - Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, or Breaking Report:
"Remembering Lou Rawls," written by Jonathan Kaplan; CBS News

News - Analysis, Feature, or Commentary:
"Crisis Mismanagement" (America's Investigative Reports), Written by Tom M. Jennings; PBS


Around The Web
Join The Conversation
vrico2005 vrico2005 10 years
So glad the Office won!
Linda-McP Linda-McP 10 years
Little Miss Sunshine gets my vote too! What a great movie. Overall great picks.
kscincotta kscincotta 10 years
They held the WGAs the same night as the Grammys and one night after the BAFTAs? How does that make sense? But Yay! for Little Miss Sunshine. That was definitely one of the most unique screenplays of the year and I hope they win. I'm pulling for them in that category more than any other.
Food & Wine Best New Chefs 2012
Announcing the 2011 IACP Cookbook Awards Finalists
2011 James Beard Awards Semifinalists
Food & Wine Magazine Searches For the People's Best New Chef
2010 Daytime Emmy Food Show Nominees
Met Gala Moments: Red, White and Blue Beauties Arrive in Style
2010 James Beard Award Winners

POPSUGAR, the #1 independent media and technology company for women. Where more than 75 million women go for original, inspirational content that feeds their passions and interests.

From Our Partners
Latest Entertainment
All the Latest From Ryan Reynolds