Skip Nav
Winter Fashion
Found: The Perfect Lingerie For Your Zodiac Sign
Fashion Week
Banana Republic Wants Us to Break Up Our Suits — and We're Not Mad About It
Street Style
Sometimes, It's What the Models Wear in Between Shows That Counts

Who Will Win the 2012 CFDAs?

The CFDAs Are Tonight! Who Do You Think Will Win — the Olsens, Marc Jacobs, or Proenza Schouler?

The CFDA Awards take place this evening, and we can't wait to find out who takes home the coveted awards! Creatures of the Wind, Suno, and Altuzarra are the labels up for the Swarovski Designer of the Year Award, while style veterans Marc Jacobs, Proenza Schouler, and Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row are contending for Womenswear Designer of the Year. Let us know who you think will win this year! On Allison McNamara: StyleMint.

View Transcript »

The CFDA Awards are tonight! Who do you think will take home the coveted Women's Wear Designer of the Year? Hi, I'm Allison McNamara, welcome back to FabSugar TV. The CFDA Awards are tonight, and there are lots of awards being handed out. This year, Joseph Altuzarra, Chris Peters, and Shane Gabier, Creatures Of The Wind and Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis for Suno are all up for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear, which recognizes emerging talent. Joseph Altuzarra has been nominated for the Swarovski Award two times before, but has never taken home the award, and we think this might be his year. His rocket inspired fall collection, with its fabulous outerwear and jib set embellishments, was one of the most buzzed about shows of fashion week, and this spring we are loving its sporty finishes and Hawaiian prints. What is iconic Altuzarra tell us? Well, for fall I think what's been really successful editorially and with the retailers is the parka and I think it's the kind of functionality of it. And it's something that you can really wear and it's gonna keep you warm that has a lot of style as well. Past Swarovski award recipients include Prabal Gurung in 2011, Jason Wu in 2010, Alexander Wang in 2009, Rodarte in 2008, and Phillip Lim in 2007. Up for the women's wear designer of the year are Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen for their line The Row, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs. The designer for Proenza Schouler took home the award last year and Marc Jacobs won in 2010 and received a lifetime achievement award in 2011. So we think it might go to Mary Kate and Ashley this year. The row artfully masters minimalism with sleek tailoring, clean lines, and neutral colors, and we think the Olsens totally deserve it. Jessica Chastain and Dan Stevens will present the award. The Fashion Icon Award will go to a man this year: Johnny Depp. Who makes an offbeat style tinted glasses, fedoras, scarves and vests look totally dapper. So who do you think will take home the awards this year? Leave us a comment below and let us know. I'm Allison McNamara and I'll see you time on FabSugar TV.

Impromptu Tortoise Sex Is The Real Star Of New York Fashion Week
The Last 10 Years of Celebrity Street Style: A Visual History
Full House Cast Instagram Pictures
How to Pronounce Fashion Designer's Names
Mary-Kate Olsen Reunites With Bob Saget
Lupita Nyong'o's Dress at the Star Wars European Premiere
Is Michelle Going to Be in Fuller House Season 2

POPSUGAR, the #1 independent media and technology company for women. Where more than 75 million women go for original, inspirational content that feeds their passions and interests.

Join The Conversation
Latest Fashion