Skip Nav
Calorie Breakdowns
The Shocking Amount of Calories You'll Save Giving Up These 10 Foods For Lent
Healthy Eating Tips
Meet Lucuma, the Superfood You Need to Know More About
Healthy Recipes
A Mardi Gras Menu That's Only Slightly Indulgent

Chakras 101

In Sanskrit the word Chakra means "wheel" or "circle." There are 7 chakras connected to major nerve ganglia from the base of the spine to the crown of your head.

It is believed that God, Divine Energy, Spirit, Jesus - whatever you choose to call it,
creates prana
or energy. As you breathe, you take in this prana, and it is distributed through the chakras. Each chakra represents different emotional and physical properties. The goal is to "open" your chakras (through yoga and meditation), so that your entire being will be balanced.

Chakra 7 - The Crown chakra relates to consciousness and connection to the greater world beyond. When developed, this chakra brings not only wisdom, understanding, spiritual connection, but also bliss.

Chakra 6 - The Third Eye chakra is related to the act of seeing - both physically and intuitively. When healthy, it allows us to see "the big picture."

Chakra 5 - The Throat Chakra is related to self expression, communication, and creativity.

Chakra 4 - The Heart chakra allows us to love deeply, feel compassion, and have a deep sense of peace and feeling centered.

Chakra 3 - Located in the solar plexus, the Navel chakra helps us to have personal power, good self-esteem, and a feeling of being in control.

Chakra 2 - Located in the abdomen, lower back, and sexual organs, the Sacral chakra connects us to others and allows us to feel freely. It brings us strong emotional identity and the ability to accept change.

Chakra 1 - Located in the base of the spine, this chakra forms our foundation. It's related to our survival instincts and our sense of feeling grounded. This chakra brings us health, security, and dynamic presence.

The function of the chakras is to spin and draw in energy to keep the spiritual, mental, emotional and physical health of the body in balance.

Want to see some beautiful chakra art? Then





Around The Web
Yoga Sequence to Tone Thighs
Stretches to Do in Bed
Insane Places People Have Done Yoga
6 Things You Need to Know Before Trying Hot Yoga

POPSUGAR, the #1 independent media and technology company for women. Where more than 75 million women go for original, inspirational content that feeds their passions and interests.

Join The Conversation
controlledspin controlledspin 9 years
I really like the art :)
Latest Fitness