Skip Nav
Valentine's Day
These Vegan Truffles Are the Only Date You’ll Need This Valentine’s Day
Touching Stories
This Dad Ran a Marathon While Pushing His Daughter's Stroller and Wins in Our Book
Workout Clothes
Work Out Like a Fitness Blogger in H&M's Stylish New Activewear Collection
Around The Web
The Benefits of Boxing
Common Concerns About Periods
What Is Lucuma Powder?
Healthier Mardi Gras New Orleans Recipes

POPSUGAR, the #1 independent media and technology company for women. Where more than 75 million women go for original, inspirational content that feeds their passions and interests.

Join The Conversation
2570492 2570492 3 years
Kashi GoLean is not vegan.
SaraNoH SaraNoH 4 years
I'd also like to point out that while spinach may seem like a lovely calcium source, the lack of bioavailability of it reduces absorption to only 5% or so.... Also that no matter how hars you try, no matter how much calcium you eat, you'd belucky to absorb 500 mg at 1 time, more like 300 mg, and you can't absob more than 1000mg a day anyways.
scullyisagoddess scullyisagoddess 4 years
Thanks for the article! Makes me feel more confident in my veganism. On a side note to anyone--vegan or otherwise--eating specific products or supplements for their calcium content, be advised that tricalcium phosphate is not as bioavailable as calcium carbonate. Calcium carbonate is, however, as bioavailable as the calcium in cow's milk. Stonyfield O'Soy yogurt has calcium carbonate I believe, so you are good to go there. http://jn.nutrition.org/content/135/10/2379.full
zenpawn zenpawn 4 years
Just to follow up on Heather's comment. Here's the post from which the image she references originates: http://www.zenpawn.com/vegblog/2010/08/15/osoy-its-not-vegan/ Thanks, -Erin (zenpawn)
fortheloveofkale fortheloveofkale 4 years
First off, kudos to you, Jenny! Thank you for representing us vegans in a positive light, showing that it is possible to obtain necessary nutrients from plant-based sources. However, I have one bone to pick with you. O'Soy yogurt is, in fact, not vegan. It contains live active cultures derived from milk (see the vanilla's label here: http://zenpawn.com/images/osoyyogurt.jpg). I just wanted to inform you and your readers who are equally passionate about vegan living! Stay lovely, Heather
Latest Fitness
X