Skip Nav
Popsugar Interviews
Hot or Cold: What's the Best Way to Shower After a Workout?
Emotional and Mental Health
9 Negative Thoughts That Are Sabotaging Your Wellness Goals
Beginner Fitness Tips
The 1 Move For a Flatter Belly and a Tighter Middle

MyPyramid: The USDA Gets Personal

Remember the food pyramid? You know the one that we were all taught was so important for us in grade school even though it really made absolutely zero sense? Well the food pyramid has had a bit of a face-lift and I must say, it's about time!

The new pyramid features vertical bands (rather than the old horizontal ones) in six different colors to represent different food groups and types. Orange equals grains, green is for vegetables, red is for fruits, blue represents dairy, purple is meat and beans and yellow stands for oils. There is a drawing of a person climbing a set of steps (Steps to a Healthier You) on the side of the pyramid, which is meant to show that physical activity is important to health as well as eating right.

One huge change (for me at least) is that the measurements are now measured in cups instead of servings. Most of us know what a cup is, but a serving is so vague. The new pyramid is a lot more personal and user friendly than the previous pyramid. By visiting you can plug in your stats and get your own nutrition plan. Pretty cool and definitely a change from the one-size-fits-all pyramid from the days of yore.

Around The Web
Join The Conversation
scratch5 scratch5 9 years
I went to the website a while back and it could be so helpful and just really isn't. The new pyramid is a great idea, but they need to make the web site friendlier I think.
ash_marisa ash_marisa 9 years
the 2200 cals a diet is asusming you have an active lifestyle. If you are very active, then you obviously need the 2200 calories a day. If you are dieting or are not as active, obviosuly less more accurate.
dreamsugar dreamsugar 9 years
humm -- where did you see the amount of calories you should have?
ccsugar ccsugar 9 years
I'm not going to follow this. It says I should be eating 2,200 calories a day. I don't think so.
Daily Servings of Fruits and Veggies
Senate Passes Food Safety Measure to Enforce Safety Standards For Food Processors
USDA Report Monitors Food Trends Over the Last 100 Years
What Organic Beauty Terms Mean
Study Finds Rejected Watermelons Could Be Source of Renewable Energy
Could America Be Facing a Sugar Shortage?
Produce and Meat's COOL Move

POPSUGAR, the #1 independent media and technology company for women. Where more than 75 million women go for original, inspirational content that feeds their passions and interests.

From Our Partners
Latest Fitness
All the Latest From Ryan Reynolds