POPSUGAR Fitness Vegetarian Seemingly Vegetarian Foods With Animal Ingredients 7 Surprisingly Not Vegetarian Foods by Jenny Sugar 10/05/11 248 Shares Like us on Facebook Sign up for our daily newsletter > Previous Photo 1 of 8 View on One Page ADVERTISEMENT ( more slides) Next Share This Link Copy 1 7 Surprisingly Not Vegetarian Foods If you're vegan or vegetarian, it's pretty easy to opt out of the obvious no-nos such as hamburgers and chicken wings. Aside from nonvegan beverages, you'll also want to avoid these seemingly vegetarian foods that contain hidden animal ingredients. Source: Flickr User Cooking Gluten Free Previous Photo 1 of 8 View on One Page ADVERTISEMENT ( more slides) Next Read More Omega-3sFish OilVegetarianFood Vegetarian This Veggie Burger Taco Is a Match Made in Food Heaven This Might Just Be the Most Versatile Salsa Recipe Out There Tuna Avocado Tostadas Good Enough For Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner We've Been Making This Mason Jar Lunch Week After Week and Aren't Sick of It Yet POPSUGAR, the #1 independent media and technology company for women. Where more than 75 million women go for original, inspirational content that feeds their passions and interests. Get Results With Our Fitness Newsletter Personalize Working Out Yoga Running Weight Loss Sign up with facebook or By signing up, I agree to the Terms and to receive emails from POPSUGAR. Indie3 3 years Even in meds you'll find animal ingredients. Mostly Gelatine. Cheese also isnt always veggie. But nowadays those things are easy to check. But in a lot of stuff they put animal fats. Best is to eat fresh foods. Also for your health. Even tho its not always easy. :) danakscully64 3 years I've been a vegetarian for 7 years next month and just viewing the thumbnails, I know what is in each item that isn't safe. It just takes time and research, it's easy to get down. It's taught me to read every single label. I wouldn't say these ingredients are hidden, the ingredients list makes it so we know what we're eating. Vegetarian or not, we should all be reading this. Jenny-Sugar 3 years I know. That surprised me too! Gabriela-Une-Vie-Saine 3 years The thing that actually surprised me the most was that marshmallow fluff DOESN'T have gelatin!