Skip Nav

Know Your Watermelon for Watermelon Day!

Every August 3rd is National Watermelon Day so go out and cut yourself a nice large slice of the dripping juicy fruit! Personally I like mine plain, but you can try skewering them and tossing them on the grill, or mixed into a salsa. If you can't figure out which kind to try, let me help you out. While there are a ton of different varieties - including different inside and outside colors - watermelons can be broken down into four main categories: Picnic, Seedless, Icebox, Yellow/Orange Flesh. To learn about the four types,

These are your standard types of watermelons and consist of three main types. There's the Allsweet - your standard watermelon - that is long and about 18-30 lbs. Next is Crimson Sweet which is smaller and can be round or oblong, weighing 16-35 lbs. And finally, the Jubilee type which is Oblong and large, weighing 20-45 lbs. Many different heirloom varieties fall in to this common category.

Seedless watermelons are the product of cross-breeding plants. Although they are called "seedless" they generally have soft, pale seeds. The color of the flesh can range from pink to yellow.

Icebox melons are generally smaller than regular melons and have been bred to be round (to fit in the icebox easily). These come in both red and yellow flesh, and can be seedless too.

Yellow/Orange Flesh
There's not much difference in flavor (depending on the variety and who you ask) between Red and Yellow/Orange/White/Pink flesh watermelons, however the flesh is surprisingly bright in color.

Source: Holiday Insights and Watermelon Promo Board
Image Source

Latest Food
Looking for the perfect gift this holiday season? Order our POPSUGAR Must Have box now >>