Skip Nav

Parents in Nebraska Dumping Teens Before Law Changes

More than half of the 33 children legally abandoned in Nebraska since the state's safe-haven law took effect in July have been teens. Nebraska is the first state to permit the abandonment of anyone under 19 years of age.

The state's governor announced that lawmakers would rewrite the law, which was created to provide an alternative for so-called "dumpster babies," at the end of October after a circus of attention on stats that showed many parents were abandoning teens. Sadly, the number of drop-offs has almost tripled since the announcement of the law change.

Authorities searched for a 17-year-old girl yesterday who escaped an Omaha hospital when her mother tried to leave her there. Her 14-year-old brother was reportedly taken into custody by the state.


Latest Love
Looking for the perfect gift this holiday season? Order our POPSUGAR Must Have box now >>