Skip Nav

Smarty Jones (2004)

The first unbeaten Kentucky Derby winner since Seattle Slew in 1977, Smarty Jones won the Preakness by 11 1/2 lengths but fell to Birdstone in the Belmont — his only loss since he was retired due to bruised ankle bones later that year.

Image Source: Getty
Read More HorsesHorse RacingBelmont Stakes
Watch Our Holiday Gift Guide Show!