An emotional debate among New Jersey's State Senate ended Monday with new family legislation. If the bill becomes law, New Jersey could claim status as the third state to give employees the right to take paid leave to care for a newborn or sick relative.
Workers taking leave would be eligible for two-thirds their salary maxing out at $524 per week for six weeks. The measure would be financed by employee payroll deductions that would cost New Jersey workers a maximum of $33 a year. The assembly is expected to approve the bill next week, and if the bill becomes law it would be effective as of the first of next year.
The federal version of the law — the Family and Medical Leave Act — was enacted for the same purpose but leave under the act is unpaid. California offers $917 per week for employees requiring family leave, and next year Washington state will begin offering about half that weekly sum for family leave.