Block Sites in Google Search Results

Google Allows Users to Block Sites From Search

Google is continuing its aggressive war on eliminating link bait and other search-hogging sites by allowing users to completely block certain sites from appearing in search results. Previously, users were able to do this through a Chrome Extension called Personal Blocklist, which prevents entire domains from appearing in results. Now, the functionality is built right into Google search results.

Find out more about this new functionality after the break.

After searching a topic on Google and clicking a result, if you use the back button in your browser to immediately return to the search results, a link next to your chosen result will prompt you to "block all [examplesite].com results." Clicking the link displays a confirmation message. Users can review blocked sites via a link at the bottom of search results pages and also through your Google settings page. Users must be signed into Google accounts for the changes to take effect.

This functionality works with Chrome, Firefox, and IE browsers, and will be rolled out to all users today.

Latest

POPSUGAR Selfie : Get the new app!

+