Skip Nav
Digital Life
9 of the Most Hilariously Memorable Memes From the Super Bowl
Digital Life
10 Accurate Responses to the Weirdest Super Bowl Commercial Ever
CES
5 of the Best New Beauty Gadgets to Step Your Game Up

Facebook Announces an Everyone Option For Sharing

Facebook Adds an "Everyone" Option: As in, the Entire World

Oh geeze. If you are still on the fence about the whole Facebook competing with Twitter issue, I've got a huge piece of evidence that is sure to help sway your decision — Facebook now has an everyone privacy setting!

It's basically no holds barred now folks, since you can choose to make your entire profile — including photos, videos, viewable to public. So now that we have a new real time updates feature called "what's on your mind" with Facebook (similar to Twitter's "what are you doing?") and a public profile option, let's just say that Facebook life as we know it, is officially over.


Around The Web
POPSUGAR Fashion on Twitter, Pinterest, Facebook, & Google+
Facebook Status in Real Life
Cute Tonkey Bear Dog on Instagram
What Not to Post on Facebook

POPSUGAR, the #1 independent media and technology company for women. Where more than 75 million women go for original, inspirational content that feeds their passions and interests.

Join The Conversation
TidalWave TidalWave 6 years
midori0e: go to Settings > Privacy > Profile -- there is an input box at the top and you can type in any of your friend's name and see how they are viewing your profile
midori0e midori0e 6 years
The privacy settings are just confusing at best and I don't know what is showing to my friends and to acquaintances now. :o
lilprisci lilprisci 6 years
Facebook as we knew it ended back in 2005 (or 2006) when they decided to open it up for everyone. It was just downhill from there since there was going to be no way (proven 3 yrs later) to please everyone.
skigurl skigurl 6 years
i'm pretty sure the "everyone" option before was everyone in your friends list because you couldnt open your profile to more than a couple networks at a time
TidalWave TidalWave 6 years
Yes, this "everyone" setting has always been there. I think the options are "Everyone", "Networks Only", "Friends Only", "Just Me"
sundaygreen sundaygreen 6 years
It's usually pretty easy to see someone else's profile if they're part of the same network as you - plus a lot of people don't know anything about privacy settings. I don't see how this changes that. My privacy settings are super tight - only some friends can see photos & the rest of my profile is only available to friends. People just have to be more aware, it doesn't mean that Facebook has suddenly turned into a pile of shit. I still prefer it 1000% over Myspace. For me it's the same as it has been since the day I signed up. I use Firefox & have AdBlock Plus, so I can't see any Google ads, so that aspect definitely doesn't bother me. I don't see how you can compare Facebook and Twitter, either - I have both and I use the two completely differently.
Carrie-Sue Carrie-Sue 6 years
I thought you could do that before, it just took a little longer, going through each setting and opening it to everyone. Now there's just one place you have to go. It really isn't all that different from the way it used to be.
meah8 meah8 6 years
I'll still be sticking to my privacy settings. Gotta keep some things to myself and friends only!!
Latest Technology & Gadgets
X