Skip Nav

Facebook Unfriend Tip

One Reader's Solution to the Unfriending Problem

When I answered one reader's tip about unfriending people on Facebook, a commenter alerted me to something I hadn't thought of. Reader Sasseefrass says:

The problem I've found is that once I unfriend someone, they'll start seeing me pop up in the "friend suggestion" sidebar. So, while Facebook doesn't directly tell them, it pretty much lets them know at some point. My solution is to create a "limited" friends list for people I don't know really well that has permissions for posting to walls, seeing my photos etc. restricted. Then when I get a friend request, I decide at that point if they should be part of that group. Then I use the "hide" option on the newsfeed so their status updates and many, many application announcements don't show up.

Thanks for the tip, Sasseefrass!

Do you have a social networking or otherwise geeky question that needs support? Create a PopSugar account or log in to your account. Then join the Ask Anything group and spill.

Latest

Download our new Selfie app!

Go to App Store
+