Earlier this month Facebook rolled out privacy controls to its mobile website, allowing users to set their overall privacy while on the go. Just yesterday, Facebook updated its iPhone app to not only include Places integration, but also added some privacy controls to the mix as well.
Learn more about these controls after the break.
As you can see from these screenshots, you can now add new locations within Places (but be sure to ask your friends if you can add a private place!) and set your status update privacy right in the iPhone app with options like Everyone, Friends and Networks, Friends of Friends, and Only Friends. It seems as if this function operates on a per-update basis, and if you select Everyone, it can appear in search results (just like your public tweets). There's nowhere else to adjust your privacy settings within the app, and it's unclear if that kind of feature will be coming in the near future.