Skip Nav

How to Block Someone From Following You on Twitter

Now that you've fully embraced the wonderful world of Twitter, you're starting to ask the hard-hitting questions. Can everyone see what I tweet? How can I make my tweets private? Is there a way to block my crazy ex-boyfriend from following me? Here's the thing. Although Twitter makes it extremely easy to communicate with the masses, they've also made it easy to control who you want to share your tweets with. Blocking someone is different than making your account only viewable to your followers. If you want to keep your tweets private and viewable to only those you've approved to read them, you will need to make your account private.

But if the thought of a certain someone reading your Tweets gives you the heebie-jeebies, you can easily block them. To find out how, just read more.

To block someone on Twitter, find their name in your followers list (or just go to their profile page directly by typing in their Twitter URL), then click Block under Actions in the sidebar. Click OK if you don't want your tweets to show up in their list of followers or in their time line, and if you don't want them to be able to follow you. Keep in mind that unless your account is private, they will still be able to see your tweets by going to your Twitter page — they just won't be able to see them in their time line. If the person becomes less creepy, you can easily go back and unblock them later.

BTW: I took this photo when me and Firefox were having major issues, but we're back on track now. So if you're using Firefox and the blocking notification box looks different than this, it's because this was when I was using Safari.

Latest Tech