Skip Nav

How To Close Online Accounts After Death

How to Deal With Social Network Accounts After Death

Dealing with death can be an extremely traumatic experience. There is so much to think about, process, and details to shore up that we may forget about the digital life our friends and relatives have left behind as well. We don't know when we're going to travel into the great hereafter (and personally, I like it that way), so if a close friend or relative of yours passes away, here are some tips to closing and/or preserving their online accounts so they can rest in peace.

  • Twitter — Twitter just rolled out a new death policy, allowing a close friend or relative to back up, or close the account of the deceased with a link to a public obituary, and your contact information.
  • Facebook — You can request that a Facebook profile be deleted or memorialized. Memorializing the page will allow sensitive info to be wiped clean, while the wall remains in tact for friends and family to leave comments.
  • Gmail — The next of kin can gain access to the deceased's Gmail account by faxing or mailing confirmation of your identity and proof of death to Gmail user support.

See the rest of the list after the jump.

  • MySpace — You can delete or memorialize a deceased user's MySpace profile if you are the next of kin, but you won't be allowed access to edit or change any of the content.
  • Ebay — You can request an Ebay account be closed due to death by sending a copy of the death certificate via fax.
  • LinkedIn — Fill out LinkedIn's Verification of Death forms, and either email or fax them back to the company.
  • Sign up for a Digital will before you go — While you're still alive and kicking, consider signing up for a digital will through a company like Entrustet to ensure all of your accounts are cared for after you're gone.
Latest Tech

Download our Halloween app!

Go to App Store
+