If I take someone off my friend list on Facebook do they get a message?
No! Your secret is safe. Facebook won't blast out a "you've been unfriended!" message; however, if the person looks at her list of friends later, she will be able to tell that you and her are no longer Facebook friends. She will also be able to tell if she goes to check out your profile and your privacy settings are set to block her from seeing all or some of your profile.