Skip Nav

Use Facebook Places With Close Friends Only

Geek Tip: How to Use Facebook Places With Only Close Friends

One of the chief complaints floating around about Facebook's new Places functionality is that it allows too many people to learn where you are. Luckily, with a few changed options within Facebook's Privacy Settings, it's easy to take advantage of the new feature without broadcasting your location to hundreds of Facebook users. I touched on this tip briefly in a larger post about Facebook Places privacy settings, but here's a helpful reminder: there's an easy way to use Facebook Places but restrict the information to only a select group of friends with whom you feel comfortable sharing your whereabouts.

Find out how after the break.

In the Privacy Setting section of your Facebook account, select "Customize" from the options in "Places I check into." Then, enter the names of the friends you do want to share your check-ins with, however small. An additional bonus of this customization option: you can also block certain Facebook friends from seeing your whereabouts completely! Additionally, to keep your Places check-ins solely among friends, be sure to disable the "Include me in People Here Now after I check in" option — it's enabled by default. And while you're at it, it's probably a good idea to disable the "Friends can check me in to Places" option under the "Things others share" section of privacy controls.

Latest Tech

Download our Halloween app!

Go to App Store
+