Skip Nav

YouTube Adds Unlisted Option to Videos

YouTube Adds Additional Privacy to Videos

With the recent backlash against Facebook and their constantly changing privacy standards, it's no wonder other social websites are taking a different approach. YouTube just added another layer of privacy to their videos — in addition to their already established public and private settings — by allowing users to mark their uploads as "unlisted," which means anyone can view a particular video with a link, but it won't show up in YouTube's search fields, or profile pages.

This is particularly helpful for casual users (folks who like to document personal milestones, like Billy's first baseball game, or Sally's first choir performance) since they can send out links to unlisted videos, and non-YouTube members will still be able to get in on the viewing action without having to sign up for an account.

Latest Tech