POPSUGAR Celebrity

Designers, Models and Mentors Celebrate the 2009 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Awards

Nov 17 2009 - 9:56am

The CFDA and Vogue magazine held the sixth CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund awards ceremony last night at Skylight Studios, where Sophie Theallet beat out Alabama Chanin’s Natalie Chanin, Esquivel Shoes’ George Esquivel, Gary Graham, House of Waris’ Waris Ahluwalia, Monique Pean, Ohne Titel’s Flora Gill and Alexa Adams, Patrik Ervell, Spurr’s Simon Spurr and Wayne’s Wayne Lee. Theallet took home the grand prize—$200,000 and a year of mentorship by an industry veteran. Runners-up, Monique Pean and Patrik Ervell will each receive $50,000 and a business mentor.

Cathy Horyn for one feels Theallet deserved the honor [1], writing this morning, "Her clothes are not flashy or arty; she’s not everybody’s darling. But if you appreciate hand-done details like pin-tucking, if you like a certain friendliness in clothes, and if you’re surprised and delighted by non-generic reds and blues, then you are surely on Sophie’s side."

Albertus Swanepoel, Irene Neuwirth, Philip Crangi, Michael and Nicole Colovos, Alexander Wang, Phillip Lim, Peter Som, Lisa Mayock, Sophie Buhai, and Thakoon Panichgul were among the former fashion fund-ers who came out for the big night; joining Nicole Kidman, Francisco Costa, Anna Wintour, Diane von Furstenberg, and keynote speaker Alber Elbaz.

New York 11/16/09 Getty [2], WireImage [3]

Alexa Chung, Jason Wu

Alexa Chung, Jason Wu

Bee Shaffer

Alber Elbaz

Alexander Wang, Vanessa Traina

Alexander Wang, Vanessa Traina

Monique Pean, Jessica Stam

Ed Westwick

Zoe Kazan, Gary Graham

Jack McCollough, Lauren Santo Domingo, Lazaro Hernandez

Anne V.

Diane von Fustenberg, Sophie Theallet

Meredith Melling Burke

Georgina Chapman

Poppy Delevigne, Richard Chai

Derek Lam

Jaquetta Wheeler

Steven Kolb

Alber Elbaz


Karen Elson

Mark Ronson

Vera Wang

Thom Browne

Lauren Bush

David Lauren, Lauren Bush

Zac Posen

Lily Donaldson, Waris Ahluwalia

Patrick Robinson

Jessica Stam

Phillip Lim, Iris Strubegger

Hamish Bowles, Carolina Herrera

Gilles Mendel

Ange Donhauser, Adi Gil, Gabe AsFour

Erin Fetherston

Sophie Theallet

Chanel Iman, Thakoon Panichgul

Caroline Trentini, Natalie Chanin

Bonnie Morrison, Peter Som

Francisco Costa


Alejandro Ingelmo, Cassie

Rachel Roy

Jessica Szohr

Caroline Trentini

Nicole Kidman, Alber Elbaz

Anna Wintour, Diane von Furstenberg

Grace Coddington, Alber Elbaz, Karen Elson

Hamish Bowles, Jacquetta Wheeler

Karen Elson, Jessica Szohr, Jessica Stam

Alber Elbaz

Lazaro Hernandez, Alber Elbaz, Jack McCollough

Alber Elbaz, Sophie Theallet, Nicole Kidman

Albertus Swanepoel

Courtney Crangi, Philip Crangi

Christina Hutson, Swaim Hutson

Blake Mycoskie

Justin Giunta, Behati Prinsloo

Anna Wintour

Yigal Azrouel

Michael and Nicole Colovos

Coco Rocha

Juan Carlos Obando

Mickey Sumner, Chris Benz

Chanel Iman, Thakoon Panichgul

Allison Sarofim

Lisa Mayock, Sophia Buhai

Irene Neuwirth

Lisa Mayock, Sophia Buhai

Rogan Gregory

Michael Bastian, Eugenia Gonzales

Kathryn Neale Shaffer, Sam Shaffer

Georgina Chapman

Jaquetta Wheeler

Source URL