Skip Nav
Personal Essay
How the Gym Saved Me From My Depression
Beginner Fitness Tips
Sculpt Your Booty With These 5 At-Home, No-Equipment Barre Moves
Holiday Fitness
40+ Lightened-Up Thanksgiving Recipes For Your Big Feast

Surprising Foods That Contain Gluten

For anyone with Celiac disease, the word "gluten" probably has a prominent place in daily conversations. But gluten is no laughing matter, especially if your body can't process it and you are trying to adhere to a gluten-free diet. If this is the case, you need to get the facts before dining out or shopping at the grocery store.

A protein found in wheat, rye, and barley, gluten is usually the main ingredient in grain-based products like breads and pastries since it allows flour to rise. When first setting out on a gluten-free diet, the rule of thumb is this: the doughier the item, the more harmful it probably is; the usual suspects include bread, crackers, cookies, biscuits, pasta, pizza, and cake.

With all that said, there are a number of foods with hidden sources of gluten that you may find surprising. Keep in mind that some companies offer gluten-free variations of these items, but always be sure to read ingredient labels thoroughly. Keep reading to arm yourself with this gluten information.

ADVERTISEMENT
  • Twizzlers licorice
  • Malt vinegar
  • Pickles (made with nondistilled vinegar)
  • Blue cheese
  • Couscous
  • Hot dogs
  • Gravy powders
  • Root beer
  • Cold-cut meats
  • Canned baked beans
  • Pudding
  • Boxed soups
  • Soy sauce
  • Dry mustard powder
  • Salad dressings
  • Tabbouleh
  • Communion wafers
  • Sausages
  • Curry powder
  • Beer

Which food on this list do you find the most surprising?

Image Source: Thinkstock
Sweet Potato Banana Protein Bread
Vegetarian Thanksgiving Entrees
What Is the Best Tasting Light Beer?
Is Intermittent Fasting Good For You?
From Our Partners
Latest Fitness
All the Latest From Ryan Reynolds