Skip Nav

2011 James Beard Award Winners

Announcing the 2011 James Beard Award Winners!

After months of media buzz, the winners of this year's James Beard Awards are in. The awards — which are being bestowed upon the nation's top chefs thisveryminute by the likes of Tom Colicchio, Ming Tsai, and Traci Des Jardins — are taking place at a star-studded gala in New York's Lincoln Center.

As for the winners: José Andrés was predicted to take home the Outstanding Chef Award, which he did — while Eleven Madison Park in New York City took home the year's award for best restaurant. To see the most updated list of accolades, keep reading.

  • Outstanding Chef Award
    José Andrés
    Minibar by José Andrés
    Washington DC
  • Outstanding Restaurant Award
    Eleven Madison Park
    New York, NY
    Chef: Daniel Humm
    Owner: Danny Meyer
  • Best New Restaurant
    ABC Kitchen
    New York, NY
    Chef/Owner: Jean-Georges Vongerichten
    Owner: Phil Suarez
  • Outstanding Restaurateur Award
    Richard Melman
    Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises
    Chicago, IL
  • Rising Star Chef of the Year Award
    Gabriel Rucker
    Le Pigeon
    Portland, OR
  • Outstanding Pastry Chef Award
    Angela Pinkerton
    Eleven Madison Park
    New York, NY
  • Outstanding Service Award
    Per Se
    New York, NY
    Chef/Owner: Thomas Keller
  • Outstanding Wine Service Award
    The Modern
    New York, NY
    Wine Director: Belinda Chang
  • Outstanding Wine and Spirits Professional Award
    Julian P. Van Winkle III
    Old Rip Van Winkle Distillery
    Louisville, KY
  • Best Chef: New York City
    Gabrielle Hamilton
  • Best Chef: Great Lakes (IL, IN, MI, OH)
    Alex Young
    Zingerman's Roadhouse
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic (DC, DE, MD, NJ, PA, VA)
    Michael Solomonov
    Philadelphia, PA
  • Best Chef: Midwest (IA, KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD, WI)
    Isaac Becker
    112 Eatery
    Minneapolis, MN
  • Best Chef: Northeast (CT, MA, ME, NH, NY, RI, VT)
    Tony Maws
    Craigie on Main
    Cambridge, MA
  • Best Chef: Pacific (CA, HI)
    Michael Tusk
    San Francisco, CA
  • Best Chef: Northwest (AK, ID, MT, OR, WA, WY)
    Andy Ricker
    Pok Pok
    Portland, OR
  • Best Chef: South (AL, AR, FL, LA, MS)
    Steven Stryjewski
    New Orleans, LA
  • Best Chef: Southeast (GA, KY, NC, SC, TN, WV)
    Andrea Reusing
    Chapel Hill, NC
  • Best Chef: Southwest (AZ, CO, NM, NV, OK, TX, UT)
    Tie: Saipin Chutma and Tyson Cole

    Saipin Chutima
    Lotus of Siam
    Las Vegas, NV

    Tyson Cole
    Austin, TX

  • Outstanding Restaurant Design
    Bar Agricole
    San Francisco, CA
    Design Firm: Aidlin Darling Design
  • Outstanding Restaurant Graphics
    The National Bar & Dining Rooms
    New York, NY
    Design Firm: Love and War
  • America’s Classics Awards

    Chef Vola's
    111 S Albion Pl
    Atlantic City, NJ
    Owners: Louise Esposito, Michael Esposito, Michael Esposito Jr. and Louis Esposito

    Le Veau d'Or
    129 East 60th Street
    New York, NY
    Owners: Robert and Cathy Tréboux

    Watts Tea Shop
    761 N. Jefferson Street
    Milwaukee, WI
    President and CEO: Sam Watts

    Crook's Corner
    610 West Franklin Street
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Owner: Gene Hamer; Executive Chef: Bill Smith

    Noriega Restaurant and Hotel
    525 Sumner Street
    Bakersfield, CA
    Owners: Rochelle Ladd and Linda Elizalde McCoy

  • Who’s Who of Food & Beverage in America Inductees
    Jonathan Gold
    Food Writer
    LA Weekly
    Los Angeles, CA

    Farmer Lee Jones
    Founder, Culinary Vegetable Institute
    Huron, OH

    Charles Phan
    Chef/Owner, The Slanted Door
    San Francisco, CA

    Frank Stitt
    The Highlands Bar & Grill
    Birmingham, AL

    Nick Valenti
    CEO, Patina Restaurant Group
    New York, NY

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    Kevin Zraly
    Wine educator and founder, Windows on the World Wine School
  • Humanitarian of the Year
    David Lee
    Founder, FareStart, Seattle, WA
Image Source: Getty
Latest Recipes, Menus, Food & Wine
All the Latest From Ryan Reynolds