Skip Nav
Disney
Try Snow White's Poison Candy Apples . . . If You Dare
Food News
6 Things You Never Knew About McDonald's, Straight From an Employee
Food Reviews
You'll Want to Buy (Almost) Every New Product From Trader Joe's This April

All About Gelatin Sheets and Powder

Know Your Ingredients: Gelatin

Amid our obsession with cooking with gelatin this Summer, PartySugar pondered about gelatin sheets versus powder. (Be sure to leave your own questions for the community!) What are the different kinds of gelatin, and how are they different? To find out, keep on reading.

Gelatin is a colorless, tasteless, ingredient used as a stabilizer, agent, thickener, and emulsifier in an array of foods, including gummy candy, salad dressing, marshmallows, pâte, and that most famous of jiggly foods, Jell-O. It's made from processing animal collagen (primarily cowhides and bones, as well as pigskin), and can be found in several forms.

There are instant versions, which can be added to food immediately; most, however, need to be soaked in water. Once extracted and dried, it may be rolled into sheets, also known as "leaf gelatin," or it may be ground into granules or a fine powder. At its purest, gelatin is measured by weight, and for ease of use, many chefs prefer leaf or sheet gelatin over powder to avoid the hassle of weighing powder.

Gelatin sheets often come in varying grades, which reflect the stiffness and concentration of the gelatin. Although there are many differing opinions on the (somewhat controversial) substitution of sheet gelatin for powdered gelatin, pastry chef David Lebovitz suggests using three-and-a-half sheets to equal one envelope (about 1/4 ounce) of powder. Which kind of gelatin do you prefer, and how do you cook with it?

Around The Web
Join The Conversation
danakscully64 danakscully64 6 years
There's a brand called Gefen that's really good, Anon :) I can find it at my local Health Food Store.
Food Food 6 years
Yes, Anonymous, Agar Agar is vegetarian. Here are a few vegetarian gelatin alternatives.
sourcherries sourcherries 6 years
I think agar agar is vegetarian.
Dealing With Anxiety as a Mom
Healthy Latin Recipes
Colombian Recipes
Types of Salmon Species
Thanksgiving Pantry Essentials
Green Tea and Coconut Oil Scrub
How to Use Guava Paste
What Is Porchetta?
Is Raw Flour Safe to Eat?
Difference Between Hors d'oeuvres vs. Appetizers
From Our Partners
Latest Food
All the Latest From Ryan Reynolds