Skip Nav
These 26 Guys Drinking Coffee Are Hotter Than Your Morning Joe
16 Creepy Incest Movies We Can't Help but Be Fascinated By
New Year
Taurus: Embrace Change and New Beginnings in 2018

Pope Names Four New Saints, Including First Indian Woman

Thousands of people appeared in St. Peter’s Square yesterday to watch as Pope Benedict XVI gave the Roman Church four new saints, one of who was of particular importance to Indian Catholics. Sister Alphonsa of the Immaculate Conception, is the first Indian woman to achieve sainthood. Her nomination is seen as a comfort to those who have recently suffered at the hands of Hindu violence in India.

The three other saints are: Gaetano Errico, a Neapolitan priest who created an order of missionaries in the 19th century, Sister Maria Bernarda who dedicated her life as a nun in Ecuador and Colombia and Narcisa de Jesus Martillo Moran, another woman who aided the sick and poor in Ecuador. Mother Teresa was beatified in 2003, and though she's usually associated with India, she was Albanian.


Guide to British Royal Titles
Same-Sex Marriage Legalized in Australia December 2017
Singing in Parliament After Australia Gets Marriage Equality
Study Finds Sunlight Shrinks Fat Cells
From Our Partners
Latest Love
All the Latest From Ryan Reynolds