Skip Nav
Digital Life
Shh! 4 Websites to Start Your Secret Santa Gift Exchange
Digital Life
28 Unexpected High-Tech Gifts For Him
Tech Tips
18 Free Apps Every Woman Should Download

High-Altitude Space Jump Facts

[UPDATED] Why Felix Baumgartner's High-Altitude Jump Is Breathtaking

UPDATE: After high winds at the Roswell, NM jump site sidelined Felix Baumgartner's high-altitude jump from the edges of Earth, the jump is set again for Sunday, Oct. 14 at 5 a.m PDT/8 a.m. EDT.

Austrian skydiver Felix Baumgartner is about to make a record-breaking jump from the edge of . . . space. After taking a stratospheric balloon flight to more than 120,000 feet in the air, Felix is set to take the plunge this morning at 10 a.m. PDT/1 p.m. EDT and become the first man to break the speed of sound in free fall, reaching an estimated 690 miles per hour.

To put things into perspective, spy planes climb up to only 85,000 feet in the air, and Felix will travel far beyond that. He'll be in free fall for over five minutes (!) and test the limits of the human body breaking the speed of sound. Since he will be the first to do so, there's a lot on the line. But Felix is testing a new space suit designed to withstand extreme conditions and a new parachute to break his fall — not to mention gather valuable medical and scientific data along the way.

Track Felix's progress and watch his historic flight at the Red Bull Stratos live YouTube stream.

Image Source: Getty
Cute iPhone 6 Wallpaper
Complete List of All 190 New Apple Emoji iOS 11.1 Fall 2017
Harry Potter Pokemon Go Niantic Augmented Reality Game 2018
Super Mario Odyssey Nintendo Switch Review
From Our Partners
Latest Technology & Gadgets
All the Latest From Ryan Reynolds