Facebook's New Feature Lets You Figure Out Who the Heck Sees Your Stuff

In an effort to make sure you really know what you're sharing with whom, Facebook is rolling out a new feature called Privacy Checkup today. The checkup is basically a short three-step process that lets you review your settings and change them if you want — all with the help of a cute lil blue dinosaur.

"We know you come to Facebook to connect with friends, not with us. But we also know how important it is to be in control of what you share and who you share with," says Facebook about the feature. Yes, that's true. Now only if the company could change those disconcerting photo search settings.

Here's what the checkup looks like . . .

Facebook

In the next few days, you’ll see the option to take the Privacy Checkup once you log in. Hit “Let’s Do It!” to get started.

Facebook

The first step reminds you of whom you're sharing posts with — friends, the public, a custom group, etc.

Facebook

The second step is all about the apps you've logged into with Facebook. You can change who sees each app you use and post from, as well as delete apps you no longer use.

Facebook

The third and last step lets you review and edit how private you keep the information on your profile, such as your work and where you live.

Facebook

That's it — you're done and get a thumbs up from the blue dino.

Facebook

You can always get to the Privacy Checkup by clicking the lock icon at the top right of your page and selecting Privacy Shortcuts.