Skip Nav

What Time Will the Inauguration Start?

What Time Will Donald Trump Become America's President?

After a tumultuous transition period, Donald Trump's inauguration ceremony is just days away. While events will take place throughout the week, namely a concert with an eclectic list of performers on Thursday, the ceremony will be on Friday.

For attendees, the security gates will open at 9 a.m. EST/6 a.m. PST. Just over two hours later, at 11:30 a.m. EST/8:30 a.m. PST, the ceremony will begin with opening remarks. Officially, Trump's swearing in is scheduled for 12 p.m. EST/9 a.m. PST.

According to Maggie Haberman of The New York Times, Trump's speech will reportedly be under 20 minutes. So, if all goes as planned, Trump will be the 45th president of the United States at approximately 12:30 p.m. EST/9:30 a.m. PST.

ADVERTISEMENT

After the swearing in, Trump and the presidential procession will parade from the Capitol to the White House. USA Today reports that 8,000 people will participate in the parade composed of local high school marching bands and veterans groups among many others.

The ceremony will be be broadcast online for free on a host of platforms.

Image Source: Getty / Alex Wong
Latest News
All the Latest From Ryan Reynolds