Skip Nav
History of Drag and Drag Queen Culture
Sashay Through the History of Drag Queen Culture
What Is Fentanyl?
The Opioid Epidemic's Biggest Culprit Isn't Heroin Anymore — It's Something Deadlier
iOS 11 Control Center WiFi Bluetooth Turn On and Off Fully
Tech Tips
Here's How to Fully Turn Off Your Bluetooth and WiFi in iOS 11

What Is Gender X?

More States Are Officially Recognizing Gender X in Addition to Male and Female

It seems even more US states and districts are warming up to the idea of recognizing a third gender option. The new distinction — known simply as gender "X" — is a way for individuals to identify outside of the traditional and rigid gender binary of official documents and identifications including driver's licenses, state ID cards, and birth certificates.

The latest to recognize a third gender identification is Washington state, which defines "X" on its official governmental website as "a gender that is not exclusively male or female, including, but not limited to, intersex, agender, amalgagender, androgynous, bigender, demigender, female-to-male, genderfluid, genderqueer, male-to-female, neutrois, nonbinary, pangender, third sex, transgender, transsexual, Two Spirit, and unspecified." According to CNN, Washington will begin issuing the option on Jan. 27.

Washington state follows just a handful of other states and districts that have begun to adhere to the same guidelines. In June 2017, Washington DC began issuing its own gender-neutral driver's licenses with the "X" distinction. In early July, Oregon followed suit and became the first state to offer a third gender option on driver's licenses. Then, in October, California marked another first: the state introduced official legislation that allows citizens to choose a third gender on California state-issued IDs, birth certificates, and driver's licenses.

As for the future, it seems Vermont may be the next to join the "X" movement — according to Vermont Public Radio, the state DMV is considering adding the third option to identification. Beyond Vermont, it's not yet clear if any other states have plans to follow suit, but every time a new state aligns with the movement, it's another step toward a more progressive (and inclusive) future.

Image Source: Getty / Bettmann
From Our Partners
Sinkhole on White House Lawn May 2018
Sephora Launches Makeup Classes For Transgender Community
Prince & Knight Children's Book
How to Avoid Kids' Clothes Gendering
Were Freddie Mercury and Princess Diana Friends?
Is Deadpool Pansexual in the Movies?
Gay Couple Get Cheered at on the Boardwalk After Prom
Drag Queens at RuPaul's DragCon 2018
Maxine Waters Debate With Mike Kelly May 2018
Interview With Larry Nassar Accuser Tiffany Lopez
James Comey Sang Beyonce's "Sandcastles" at FBI Briefing
Melania Trump Wax Figure Pictures and Twitter Reactions
From Our Partners
Latest News
All the Latest From Ryan Reynolds