11 Foods and Condiments You Thought Were Gluten-Free but Actually Aren't
If you eat a gluten-free diet, then you're probably well aware of the dangers that lurk behind certain foods. Wheat, rye, and barley are commonly found in foods and recipes that can make people with celiac disease or other gluten sensitivities really sick. While some foods are a lot more obvious than others, there are certain things sitting in your kitchen that you might not even know contain gluten, many of which are condiments.
Not all condiments sold in stores or provided at restaurants have been modified to meet the needs of a gluten-free diet. In fact, certain condiments rely on gluten-based ingredients to give them the flavors and consistencies they're known for. Before throwing a dash of a little something onto your next meal, make sure to check out this list of 11 foods and condiments that often contain gluten.
Since wheat is a primary ingredient in soy sauce, this condiment is not gluten-free. The good news is it isn't impossible to find brands that replace wheat with gluten-free ingredients. Do some research before your next grocery haul and find a soy sauce that won't make you sick.
Many veggie burgers contain wheat and gluten ingredients, so unless it's specifically stated to be gluten-free, steer clear.
Barbecue sauce is the perfect way to flavor any meal on the grill, but it usually isn't gluten-free. Most barbecue sauces readily available on store shelves contain vinegar derived from gluten grains and barley malt flour. Search for gluten-free sauces at the grocery store or consider making your own from scratch.
Not only is Worcestershire sauce tricky to pronounce, but it can be hard to ensure it's gluten-free. Most bottles of this English condiment are made from barley malt vinegar, which contains gluten.
Plain meats are gluten-free, but many meats you buy prepackaged or at the grocery store deli counter may contain gluten. This is because these meats usually contain ingredients beyond the actual meat.
Mirin is a sweet condiment commonly served with Japanese dishes. Its main ingredient is a rice-based cooking wine, which means it isn't gluten-free.
Many soups are made with creams or other thickeners, which can contain gluten. Read a can of soup's label carefully before digging into a bowl.
Some mayonnaises contain gluten. Make sure to buy jars of mayo that have a gluten-free label on it.
While plenty of salad dressings are certifiably gluten-free, you still need to be careful. Many of them still contain wheat as a main ingredient as well as other elements to make them creamy. You can always make your own dressing.
Imitation Crab Meat
Imitation crab meat often contains starch, which means it's not gluten-free.
American wasabi typically isn't real wasabi. It tends to be derived from a mix of ingredients that can include wheat starch, which means this spicy condiment isn't always a safe option for those on a gluten-free diet.