Skip Nav

Star Wars Movies in Chronological Order

The Chronological Order of Star Wars Films, in Case You've Forgotten

Star Wars Movies in Chronological Order
Image Source: Everett Collection

If you're not a diehard Star Wars fan but you've still seen every film in the franchise, you deserve a pat on the back. There are a ton of them, and it's no small task devoting all that time to Han Solo, Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, Rey, and all the other iconic characters over the years.

As new Star Wars series keep premiering on Disney+, it can be complicated keeping the chronology of the sprawling universe straight. There's the events of "Obi-Wan Kenobi" and "Andor," which are set before "A New Hope" and after "Revenge of the Sith." There's "The Mandalorian," which fills in the space between "Return of the Jedi" and "The Force Awakens." Upcoming series "Ahsoka" and "The Skeleton Crew" are both set to occur during that time, too. That's also the new series "The Acolyte," which is set to take place 100 years before "The Phantom Menace."

So if you're wondering where Din Djarin, Grogu, Cassian Andor, and Ahsoka Tano fit into the grand scheme of things, this guide to the Star Wars movies will help you out.

First Star Wars Movie

Technically, "Star Wars: Episode IV — A New Hope" was the first Star Wars movie, released in 1977. But chronologically, the "Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace" prequel is the first movie that takes place in the universe.

How Many Star Wars Movies Are There?

As of "Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker," there are 11 Star Wars movies.

Star Wars Movies in Order of Release

  1. "Star Wars: Episode IV — A New Hope" (1977)
  2. "Star Wars: Episode V — The Empire Strikes Back" (1980)
  3. "Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi" (1983)
  4. "Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace" (1999)
  5. "Star Wars: Episode II — Attack of the Clones" (2002)
  6. "Star Wars: Episode III — Revenge of the Sith" (2005)
  7. "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" (2015)
  8. "Rogue One: A Star Wars Story" (2016)
  9. "Star Wars: The Last Jedi" (2017)
  10. "Solo: A Star Wars Story" (2018)
  11. "Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker" (2019)

Keep reading to see all of the Star Wars movies in chronological order.

Latest Entertainment