"The Lost Daughter" and "Zola" Lead Spirit Awards Winners — See the Full List

The 2022 Film Independent Spirit Awards winners are finally here! The show, which usually takes place during the same weekend as the Oscars, returned to the Santa Monica Pier after resorting to a virtual ceremony last year. On Dec. 14, 2021, this year's Spirit Awards nominees were announced via a livestream broadcast with Regina Hall, Naomi Watts, and Beanie Feldstein.

Kristen Stewart, who recently scored her first Oscar nomination for her haunting portrayal of Princess Diana in "Spencer," served as the honorary chair while making her Spirit Awards debut. Wearing a sequined Chanel jumpsuit, Stewart presented the award for best male lead, which went to Simon Rex for his role in "Red Rocket." Meanwhile, Taylour Paige won best female lead for "Zola." It was a big night for films "The Lost Daughter" and "Zola," which scored two and three wins, respectively. This year's presenters included Sydney Sweeney, Lily James, Regina Hall, Andrew Garfield, and Rosario Dawson.

Keep reading for the complete list of winners ahead.


Best Feature

WINNER: "The Lost Daughter"

Best First Feature

WINNER: "7 Days"

John Cassavetes Award

WINNER: "Shiva Baby"
Writer/Director/Producer: Emma Seligman
Producers: Kieran Altmann, Katie Schiller, Lizzie Shapiro

Best Director

WINNER: Maggie Gyllenhaal, "The Lost Daughter"

Best Screenplay

WINNER: "The Lost Daughter," Maggie Gyllenhaal

Best First Screenplay

WINNER: "Pig," Michael Sarnoski; Story by Vanessa Block, Michael Sarnoski

Best Cinematography

WINNER: Edu Grau, "Passing"

Best Editing

WINNER: Joi McMillon, "Zola"

Best Female Lead

WINNER: Taylour Paige, "Zola"

Best Male Lead

WINNER: Simon Rex, "Red Rocket"

Best Supporting Female

WINNER: Ruth Negga, "Passing"

Best Supporting Male

WINNER: Troy Kotsur, "CODA"

Robert Altman Award

WINNER: "Mass"
Director: Fran Kranz
Casting Directors: Henry Russell Bergstein, Allison Estrin
Ensemble Cast: Kagen Albright, Reed Birney, Michelle N. Carter, Ann Dowd, Jason Isaacs, Martha Plimpton, Breeda Wool

Best Documentary

WINNER: "Summer Of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)"

Best International Award

WINNER: "Drive My Car" (Japan)

Producers Award

WINNER: Lizzie Shapiro

Someone To Watch

WINNER: Alex Camilleri, "Luzzu"

Truer Than Fiction Award

WINNER: Jessica Beshir, "Faya Dayi"


Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

WINNER: "Black and Missing"

Best New Scripted Series

WINNER: "Reservation Dogs"

Best Female Performance in a New Scripted Series

WINNER: Thuso Mbedu, "The Underground Railroad"

Best Male Performance in a New Scripted Series

WINNER: Lee Jung-jae, "Squid Game"

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series

WINNER: "Reservation Dogs"
Ensemble Cast: Devery Jacobs, D'Pharaoh Woon-A-Tai, Lane Factor, Paulina Alexis, Sarah Podemski, Zahn McClarnon, Lil Mike, FunnyBone