Taylour Paige, Jovan Adepo, Chris Chalk, and James Remar Join the "It" Prequel Cast

Pennywise is breaking his 27-year curse and returning to Derry sooner than expected. Joining him are Taylour Paige, Jovan Adepo, Chris Chalk, and James Remar, who have all been added to the cast, Variety reported on April 5. Like many other details about the show, their specific roles are being kept under wraps.

HBO Max announced that an "It" prequel series titled "Welcome to Derry" was in the works on March 29, 2022, and officially gave it the green light on Feb. 23. The series, inspired by Stephen King's horror classic, will explore life in Derry leading up to Pennywise's tirade on the Losers Club before the razor-toothed killer clown's misdeeds led Georgie to his unfortunate fate in that rainy sewer drain.

However, there's a big caveat. On March 28, in an interview with Jake's Takes, Bill Skarsgård, who received critical acclaim for his role as Pennywise, said that at this time he's not involved with "Welcome to Derry." "We'll see what they come up with and what they do with it," he said of the prequel series. "I am, as of now, not currently involved with it, and if someone else gets to do it my advice would just be do it your own, make it your own, have fun with it."

Read ahead to find out everything else we know about the terrifying new series.

"Welcome to Derry" Plot

The upcoming "It" prequel series, written by Jason Fuchs and executive produced by Andy Muschietti, brings us back to the town of Derry, ME, before the Losers Club was formed. Like King's book and the horror movie franchise that followed, "Welcome to Derry" will take a look at a group of friends who are forced to take on their greatest fears when children begin to disappear at the hands of a murderous clown named Pennywise. The series will portray the events leading up to 2017's "It."

"Welcome to Derry" Cast

So far, Paige, Adepo, Chalk, and Remar have all been cast, though nothing is known about what characters they'll play.

It's unclear if any of the film series' cast members will return, but for now, all we know is that Skarsgård is not attached to the project.

The original 1990 "It" miniseries starred Richard Thomas (Bill Denbrough), Annette O'Toole (Beverly Marsh), John Ritter (Ben Hanscom), Harry Anderson (Richie Tozier), Dennis Christopher (Eddie Kaspbrak), Tim Reid (Mike Hanlon), and Richard Masur (Stanley Uris) as the main members of the Losers Club and Tim Curry as Pennywise.

In 2017's "It," the cast included Jaeden Lieberher (Bill Denbrough), Jeremy Ray Taylor (Ben Hanscom), Sophia Lillis (Beverly Marsh), Finn Wolfhard (Richie Tozier), Jack Dylan Grazer (Eddie Kaspbrak), Chosen Jacobs (Mike Hanlon), Wyatt Oleff (Stanley Uris), and Skarsgård as Pennywise. The sequel, "It Chapter Two" (2019), then saw Jessica Chastain (Beverly Marsh), James McAvoy (Bill Denbrough), Bill Hader (Richie Tozier), Isaiah Mustafa (Mike Hanlon), Jay Ryan (Ben Hanscom), James Ransone (Eddie Kaspbrak), and Andy Bean (Stanley Uris) step in as older versions of the small-town crew.