Listen to "Look What You Made Me Do (Taylor's Version)" in the "Wilderness" Trailer

Taylor Swift announced the official release date for "1989 (Taylor's Version)" this August, but some fans have their eyes on what they think will be the next rerecording after that: "Reputation (Taylor's Version)." Fans got a small preview of one of the album's songs when a snippet of "Delicate (Taylor's Version)" surfaced from a season two episode of "The Summer I Turned Pretty" on Aug. 3, indicating that the rerecorded version is definitely in progress. And on Aug. 23, Amazon Prime Video released the trailer for its upcoming series "Wilderness," and it features the first snippet of "Look What You Made Me Do (Taylor's Version)."

However, fans may still have to wait a while for the album, as Ed Sheeran — who appears on the track "End Game" on the original "Reputation" — has revealed that he hasn't yet been back to the studio to work on the new version. In an Aug. 15 clip from an interview on Andy Cohen's "Deep & Shallow Podcast," when asked if he'd revisited the track, Sheeran replied, "No, I haven't. No. But '1989 (Taylor's Version)' is the next one coming out. That's the next one." He also shared he hasn't yet been able to see Swift's Eras Tour. "I would love to go and see Taylor's show, but we're all playing on the same dates every single weekend," he said. "I think there's a chance, next year when she's in the UK, then I'll be free."

Swift has been pretty tight-lipped about when fans can expect the new version of the 2017 album, which remains a fan favorite (and makes up a lengthy part of the middle of Swift's three-hour Eras Tour set).
The original album, which she does not own the masters of, features songs that harken back to her feud with Kim Kardashian and Kanye West, as well as quite a few tracks about the end of her relationship with Calvin Harris and her quickie 2016 romance with Tom Hiddleston. Plus, the album's most romantic tracks, like "Delicate" and "New Year's Day," are believed to be about the beginning of her relationship with Joe Alwyn; their split was reported in April.

What mysteries, surprises, and delights Swift's second "Reputation" era will bring remain a tightly kept secret, but Swift seems to have left some clues as to the album's release date, and if Swifties have decoded them correctly, it appears the album will come sometime next year. Here's what we know about "Reputation (Taylor's Version)" so far.

"Reputation (Taylor's Version)" Release Date
Getty | Natasha Moustache/TAS23

"Reputation (Taylor's Version)" Release Date

Swift has yet to announce an official release date for "Reputation (Taylor's Version)," but fans think they've uncovered some Easter eggs she's dropped about the timeline. In the "Karma (Remix)" music video released this May, fans found lots of clues they thought pointed to Swift releasing "1989 (Taylor's Version)" sometime after "Speak Now (Taylor's Version)" drops this July (and they were ultimately correct). As for "Reputation (TV)," in one of the video's last shots, Swift holds a coffee cup; inside, her latte has art that looks like a clock. A finger with light-blue nail polish is by the eight on the clock, while a finger with black polish is by the two. Many fans have interpreted that to mean that "1989 (Taylor's Version)" would be released this August and "Reputation (Taylor's Version)" would be released in February 2024. It turns out this was actually a clue that "1989" would be announced in August, which would mean "Reputation (TV)" will be announced in February.

Still, other fans have theorized that Swift will drop "Reputation (Taylor's Version)" alongside "Taylor Swift (Taylor's Version)," her self-titled debut album that was originally released in 2006. "Reputation" the album is, in part, about Swift reclaiming and retelling her own story (and during the Eras Tour, she even turns "Look What You Made Me Do" into a tribute to her original albums). Releasing the album that literally bears her name alongside "Reputation" would be the perfect ending to the rerecording era.

Many Swifties have also speculated that all the rerecorded versions will be released by the time the Eras Tour officially ends in the fall of 2024.

"Reputation (Taylor's Version)" Tracklist
Getty | Scott Eisen/TAS23

"Reputation (Taylor's Version)" Tracklist

We don't have the official "Reputation (Taylor's Version)" tracklist yet, but based on what she's done with the other albums, it's safe to assume that all the original "Reputation" songs will be rerecorded. Though we don't know which "Vault" songs — unreleased songs from the original writing sessions — Swift will include, it is possible that the nonalbum track "I Don't Wanna Live Forever," recorded with Zayn for 2017's "Fifty Shades Darker," will find a home on "Reputation (Taylor's Version)."

"Reputation" by Taylor Swift Track List

  1. "…Ready For It?"
  2. "End Game" (feat. Ed Sheeran and Future)
  3. "I Did Something Bad"
  4. "Don't Blame Me"
  5. "Delicate"
  6. "Look What You Made Me Do"
  7. "So It Goes…"
  8. "Gorgeous"
  9. "Getaway Car"
  10. "King of My Heart"
  11. "Dancing With Our Hands Tied"
  12. "Dress"
  13. "This Is Why We Can't Have Nice Things"
  14. "Call It What You Want"
  15. "New Year's Day"
click to play video

"Look What You Made Me Do (Taylor's Version)" by Taylor Swift

The teaser for Prime Video's "Wilderness," released Aug. 23, features one minute and 30 seconds of "Look What You Made Me Do (Taylor's Version)," which was the first single off the original "Reputation." Prime also shared that the song will be used for the opening titles for the series. The series follows Jenna Coleman as Liv, a woman who finds out her husband Will (Oliver Jackson-Cohen) has cheated on her. As they embark on an American vacation, she plots her revenge. The series will debut Sept. 15 on the streamer.